5/8/07

I think I need another vacation. Work is stressing me out, I feel like I’m a pauper, and I don’t like any of it. Overworked and underpaid is a statement I say frequently. Eight months ago I was promoted. When I took the position, I was told that after three months, I would have a performance review and my current salary (hourly) would be reviewed for an increase. Then, all of a sudden, my old supervisor who had made these statements, left the company. Now with the new administrator, I won’t get any kind of increase until my annual review, in August. It’s so discouraging because I went from someone with no responsibility to someone who is a supervisor, and I have WAY more responsibility for the same pay as when I had none. Every day I say to myself, why am I doing this? I mean, I could have had less stress for the same pay. My job has called me on Sunday for something that could have waited until Monday. They cut out all OT and now I can’t pay my bills. Yes, it’s my fault for basing my income on OT, but when I changed positions I was told my hours were 8 to 5 with a 30 minute lunch. So this means about 5 hours OT every pay period. It was like that for about 7 months, how could I NOT have based my income off that? It was consistently coming in. Anyways, I feel like I’m being taken advantage of, and it’s not cool. If anyone has any suggestions on what I can do to improve my situation short of telling my boss to F-off, please let me know.

I’m actively looking for another job, I’m in school to improve myself and get that 4-year degree. I just don’t know what to do.

Posted in debt, work. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “5/8/07”

  1. dru Says:

    have you talked to your new boss about it and explained the expectations you had when you took the position? and that you’ve had no increase in spite of a major increase in responsibility and that you feel you deserve a pay increase commensurate with your new job duties?

  2. Dr. Bloggy Blogsterblog Says:

    Hi Dreamy,

    I’m curious to learn more about this four year degree that you are working on! Of course the irony is that as a four year grad, you will have more responsibility, more pressure, and longer working hours since you will probably be a salaried employee. But that means a little more money, but no overtime! 🙂

    I had a reminder yesterday of how important an emergency fund is. On my way home from work, my check engine light came on. Fortunately the car seemed to be running OK, so I drove it home. Since I’m a frugal guy, I took it to Advance Auto Parts to have them read the code for me for free. They did, and it popped up with two codes related to the transmission.

    So I drove away from there, a little disappointed because I had just reached $1100 in my emergency fund and knew that I’d have to spend at least part of it on the car repair. But on the other hand, it probably wouldn’t be debt that I would be incurring, just spending money that I already have.

    (Fortunately, this story ends well. Turns out that I overfilled the transmission back in December when I changed the control solenoid on it, and heat makes transmission fluid expand. The warm weather that we have been having lately caused the fluid to be WAY too high. So I siphoned some out, and drove it today. The check engine light turned off, and it shifted like a new car. Phew…)

  3. JW Thornhill Says:

    At 43 years old I just experience something very similar to you. I just lost a job. But, with determination, patience and perseverance we’ll all make it.

    Good Luck!

  4. kellie Says:

    So you got promoted to a supervisor without a pay increase? Yikes. Your old supervisor should have done a performance review before she left or at least wrote up a review of each of the employees and what was on the agenda. This is what happens at my company.

    I would certainly plead your case to your new supervisor and explain that it is unreasonable for she/he to think you will remain in a position where your job responsibilities has increased but your pay has not. If he/she refuses to budge than I would go above them since he/she is your new supervisor. Can you step down and get your old job back?


Leave a Reply

