Discouraged

I’ve been reading a lot of PF blogs lately. I have realized that it’s going to be near impossible to be debt free any time soon. I make less than $25K per year and can barely get by as it is. Most of the people blogging make twice, if not three times what I do. I pay my rent on time, car payment on time, student loans are in deferment, and credit cards aren’t maxed out. Sometimes I just get so discouraged because I don’t have an emergency fund (read F-YOU Fund), and I’m living paycheck to paycheck. I follow a budget, but there’s nothing on paper because I’m terrible with money. When I’m discouraged, I shop. When I’m bored, I shop. Basically I shop because the mall is about 5 minutes from my house. I just feel like I’m in a never ending vicious cycle of debt, especially when I read that someone’s paid off this debt or that one.

I know that this feeling will pass eventually, it just seems that there are more days like this than aren’t.  Sometimes I just need to get this out and I’ll feel better after. Who knows what kind of mood I’ll be in an hour from now.

Posted in debt. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Discouraged”

  1. krystal Says:

    Hey don’t get discouraged. You’ll achieve the financial goals that you want for yourself, you’re just taking your own path there. It’s hard not to compare yourself to other PF bloggers, and your friends/family around you … but no one situation is ever the same, and I personally think you’re doing a great job! 🙂

  2. Ryan Says:

    First off I’m still alive and just haven’t been motivated to blog..lately
    Trust me…I know exactly how you feel.. Seems like you’re getting nowhere fast… Try finding a part-time job if but only for a week at least you’ll have some extra cash to start the emergency fund or pay down some debt. Sell some stuff on Ebay or something.. just find a way to gather some extra cash.. eat mac and cheese for a week..
    And as for the shopping when you’re bored… my wife is the same way. Pick up a book or find a free festival to go to.. clean your house.. occupy your mind.. if you have time to shop you have time to work more

  3. Brett McKay Says:

    I know exactly how you feel. It’s depressing, but we just got to keep on keeping one. You’re on the right path and it looks like your better off financially than most people. Keep up the good work.

  4. SavingDiva Says:

    We all have these moments. The important thing is to not let it keep you down. I too LOVE to shop. I either spend a lot of time and energy gathering coupons and scouring clearnace racks or I go to the grocery store. I allow myself to buy whatever crazy food items I want. I spent $3 on two pieces of bread (Nan) last night because it looked delicious. However, including the hommous, I spent $5 and will probably have 2 meals.

    I also added your link to my favorite blogs! I will be checking back frequently (okay, obsessively).


Leave a Reply

