It Pays to Complain

about bad service, that is. SavingDiva has written in her blog about some experiences that were less than 100% up to par. It made me think about an experience I had at Staples back in November.

I recently became a Notary Public here in NYS, and I had to purchase a Notary stamp for my “business”. Well, since I used to work at Staples, I decided to go to the one close to my house. There’s an Office Max about the same distance away, and I could have gone there, but I didn’t.

Anyways, I walk in to the Copy Center to place my order for the stamp. Now, it took the girl about 5 minutes to realize that I was there and when she finally did, she didn’t really know anything about the stamp ordering process. I tried to help her as much as possible, and even took out my Notary License to help with the spelling of my name. When I was spelling it for her, she said something snotty to me about my name, and I of course got really pissed, but since I needed the stamp, I let it go. So, we finish with the ordering and I double checked the order form to make sure my name was spelled correctly, my license number was correct, and the county/state were right. I paid the $20 plus tax for the stamp and left.

Two weeks later, I was back in Staples to pick up the stamp. Again, the girl (different than the ordering girl) ignored me and when she noticed I was there, I told her I needed to pick up a stamp. She said “HUH?” all kindsa rude like. I repeated myself, a bit slower because I know that sometimes when I’m in a hurry, I’m a fast talker. “I NEED TO PICK UP A STAMP.” I said. I showed the girl,  my receipt and she got the stamp. She proceeded to throw it across the counter at me. She never asked if the impression was correct, and it’s important that it is. (If the impression is wrong, anything I notarize isn’t valid.) By this time I’m furious. There was no need for her to throw the stamp at me. I checked the impression against my license and left the store.

I’m not one to complain, and I should have the first time the girl was ignorant towards me. But this time I had two bad experiences with one order which is ridiculous. So, I get in my car and before I get out of the parking lot, I’m on the phone calling the number on the receipt. I asked to talk to the store manager and explained the situation to him. He was very embarrassed and apologetic and promised to put $15 in vouchers away for me. I told him that I was very upset and I didn’t know when the next time I was going to be in the store was, he informed me that it would be held in the safe.

That made me feel a bit better, but it still took about 4-5 months for me to go back into the store. The only reason I did is Wal-Mart was out of my print cartridge and they share a common parking lot.

So, the moral of my story is, I’m going to learn to be more outspoken when it comes to issues like this. It does pay…. 🙂

One Response to “It Pays to Complain”

  1. SavingDiva Says:

    Great story! I think it really gives us all courage we need to stand up and say this is not okay when we receive horrible service. I’m glad the story ended well. I also hope the two rude workers were reprimanded. I worked retail while in school, so I understand what they’re going through. However, if you’re not going to be nice, you should just get another job.


Leave a Reply

