Need some advice

I am about to get a job offer. They want me to start on July 30th. August 1st is my anniversary for my current job, at which time I’ll get 3 weeks vacation. If I stay until the 1st, they have to pay me out for it. BUT, I may lose the offer if I can’t start on the 30th….

If you were me, what would you do?

Posted in work. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Need some advice”

  1. Aaron Says:

    You get into the worst situations, don’t you!?!
    You may want to check to make sure that they wouldn’t prorate your vacation. That would answer your question.

    3 weeks of vacation is pretty sweet! Your new employer should match that.

    I don’t get 3 weeks until I’ve been with my employer for 5 years.

  2. SavingDiva Says:

    I would talk to your new employer and see if something can be worked out. Otherwise, you could always call in sick or something….I don’t know….that’s a tough one. I actually left a job that I had a week of vacation stored up, but they never paid me for it 😦

  3. Krystal Says:

    You should ask your new employer if they would mind you starting after August 1st. Tell them you want to tie up some loose ends with your old employer before you leave. That will not only guarantee you get your 3 weeks of vacation time, but also shows then that you are committed to getting the job done … and it’s not even a lie either!

    If your new employer says no, then that’s that. Your old work may prorate your vacation time like Aaron said, but ultimately you have to decide if the new job is more important than 3 extra weeks worth of pay!

  4. Patrick Says:

    I like Krystal’s advice. Showing you have a commitment to the job can go a long way with your new employer. Many times 1 day is not a big deal for them. I would inquire, but ultimately, you have to decide if the new position is worth the 3 weeks you would have earned. Regardless, your old company still has to pay you for what you have earned up to that point.

    Another benefit for staying with your current job through the 1st – many times you can keep your current insurance for the rest of the month as long as you were covered at least 1 day during that month. That is very important because sometimes it can take a few weeks to get covered under your new employer. You will also prevent a lapse in coverage, which is important if you have any pre-existing conditions.

    SavingDiva,

    It is illegal for them not to compensate you for the time you earned. If this was recently, even within the last year, I would look into it. This is money you earned.


Leave a Reply

