Unexpected expenses at the worst possible time

Thursday morning on my way to work, the strangest thing happened. No, it wasn’t an automobile accident, but I did think of running them over. There was a fight between two summer school kids in the middle of the street, stopping traffic, ending up on the hood of my car. The two kids made a dent in the hood of my car to the tune of $875. I contacted the school and know who the boys are, and who their parents are. One of the boys has stated to the Police Officer stationed at the school that he has a job and will pay for his half. I have to contact both parents on Monday after I get another estimate for the damage.

This brings me to the point of the title. Last month, I had trouble making the rent. (With the new job, this should be alleviated.) I depleted my emergency fund so that I could keep my landlord happy. (As a side note, the check hasn’t been cashed yet.) Anyways, now this is where the unexpected expense happens. I have to have the car fixed, so I’m going to pay my $500 deductible and get that from the boys. I don’t know how well this is going to go over with the parents. I know that the parents do know about the incident, but I want to be fair. If I can get an estimate for under $500, I won’t go through my insurance. (I’ve already checked with my insurance agent, it won’t raise my rates but it would count as an incident.)

Best case scenario is, the damage can be repaired for under $500, and the boys will just pay it. I’m hoping for this option, and I’ll definitely keep you posted.

4 Responses to “Unexpected expenses at the worst possible time”

  1. krystal Says:

    That must have been scary to see those kids fighting on the hood of your car! I’m glad one of the boys has stated that he’ll pay for his half of the damage.

    Hopefully it’ll cost less than $500 and you won’t have to go through your insurance. Fingers crossed for you!

  2. SavingDiva Says:

    Good luck with getting the boys to pay for it. I’m sorry that such a crappy thing happened to you. Continue to work hard toward your goals, and control the things you control.

  3. Blogging My Way out of Debt Initial contact made…. « Says:

    […] — dreamy1 I had my first contact with the grand parent of one of the boys involved in the fight last week tonight. I explained to her what happened, and told her that I have two estimates for the repairs. […]


Leave a Reply

